March 2nd, 2011



The Goethe-Institut of Belgrade, the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics Karlsruhe, Götz Naleppa (producer and media artist), Programme 3 of Radio Belgrade, the European Broadcasting Union’s Ars Acustica Group and Deutschlandradio Kultur warmly invite you to take part in the following project:


This is a call to all European sound artists to compose a contribution made up of acoustic impressions of a European venue or landscape selected by them and rendered in artistic form. No contribution should exceed five minutes in duration. The aim of this project is to produce a sound composition which conveys an impression of the particularities of different parts of Europe.

The composition should meet the following prerequisites:

  • Genre: electroacoustic music / radiophonic sound art
  • Theme: sounds of places and/or landscapes in Europe
  • Duration: 5 min. maximum
  • Format: mp3 – 192 kbit/s
  • Deadline for submission: 15 February 2011 (extended till 15 March 2011)

A jury shall select the ten best entries by April 2011 and invite their composers to a workshop in Karlsruhe from 17 to 22 October 2011. On the basis of their contributions and together with the workshop leader, Thomas Köner, prizewinning sound and media artist, participants will put together a European sound panorama which forms a whole, but whose individual parts will still be recognizable with their varied and particular aspects.

The ten individual entries and the overall composition will be presented in public at the ZKM in Karlsruhe on 22 October 2011 as well as at other venues and will be transmitted by participating radio broadcasters. The acoustic art work “Europe – A Sound Panorama” will be the result of an intercultural exchange on how Europe is perceived.

The artists shall receive a separate fee for the broadcast première of the sound panorama on Deutschlandradio Kultur. All other transmissions shall be free of costs for EBU Members. By submitting their composition, the artists declare that they agree with these terms.

Artists shall submit a zip file with:

  1. the completed registration form as an RTF document
  2. the composition in mp3 format, 192 kbit/s

The registration form must also be sent in writing and with the artist’s signature
to the following fax number: +49 30 8503 940 5585

“Europe – A Sound Panorama” is supported by the Allianz Culture Foundation

Leave a Reply